House Committee Chairs Announced

Member Group : News Releases

Representative Sam Smith
The Speaker
66th District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives
Media Contact: Stephen Miskin
[email protected] /

December 19, 2012

Speaker-Designate Smith Announces House Committee Chairs for the 2013-14 Session

HARRISBURG – Speaker-designate Rep. Sam Smith (R-Jefferson County) today announced the appointments of both Republican and Democratic committee chairmen for the 2013-14 Legislative Session, which begins in January.

House committees study each bill and determine which proposals will go to the full House. They conduct public hearings on key issues, allowing citizens and interested groups to have a say in the legislative process, and they serve as a resource for members and others.

"These House committees will tackle the serious issues facing Pennsylvania and, through public hearings and meetings, vet those issues and proposed solutions with public," Smith said. "These men and women of both caucuses will lead the way in preparing legislation for the full House to consider."

Committees are outlined in the House Rules that are enacted for each session.

Smith made the following appointments, which are unofficial until announced on the House floor:

Aging and Older Adult Services:
• Republican: Rep. Tim Hennessey, 26th legislative district, Chester County.
• Democrat: Rep. Steve Samuelson, 135th legislative district, Lehigh and Northampton counties.

Agriculture and Rural Affairs:
• Republican: Rep. John Maher, 40th legislative district, Allegheny and Washington counties.
• Democrat: Rep. Joseph Petrarca, 55th legislative district, Armstrong and Westmoreland counties.

Children and Youth:
• Republican: Rep. Kathy Watson, 144th legislative district, Bucks County.
• Democrat: Rep. Louise Bishop, 192nd legislative district, Philadelphia County.

• Republican: Rep. Chris Ross, 158th legislative district, Chester County.
• Democrat: Rep. W. Curtis Thomas, 181st legislative district, Philadelphia County.

Consumer Affairs:
• Republican: Rep. Robert Godshall, 53rd legislative district, Montgomery County.
• Democrat: Rep. Peter J. Daley, 49th legislative district, Fayette and Washington counties.

• Republican: Rep. Paul Clymer, 145th legislative district, Bucks County.
• Democrat: Rep. James Roebuck, 188th legislative district, Philadelphia County.

Environmental Resources and Energy:
• Republican: Rep. Ron Miller, 93rd legislative district, York County.
• Democrat: Rep. Greg Vitali, 166th legislative district, Delaware County.

• Republican: Rep. Kerry Benninghoff, 171st legislative district, Centre and Mifflin counties.
• Democrat: Rep. Phyllis Mundy, 120th legislative district, Luzerne County.

Game and Fisheries:
• Republican: Rep. Martin Causer, 67th legislative district, Cameron, Potter and McKean counties.
• Democrat: Rep. Gary Haluska, 73rd legislative district, Cambria County.

Gaming Oversight:
• Republican: Rep. Tina Pickett, 110th legislative district, Bradford, Sullivan and Susquehanna counties.
• Democrat: Rep. Rosita Youngblood, 198th legislative district, Philadelphia County.

• Republican: Rep. Matt Baker, 68th legislative district, Bradford and Tioga counties.
• Democrat: Rep. Flo Fabrizio, 2nd legislative district, Erie County.

Human Services:
• Republican: Rep. Gene DiGirolamo, 18th legislative district, Bucks County.
• Democrat: Rep. Angel Cruz, 180th legislative district, Philadelphia County.

• Republican: Rep. Nick Micozzie, 163rd legislative district, Delaware County.
• Democrat: Rep. Tony DeLuca, 32nd legislative district, Allegheny County.

• Republican: Rep. Ron Marsico, 105th legislative district, Dauphin County.
• Democrat: Rep. Thomas Caltagirone, 127th legislative district, Berks County.

Labor and Industry:
• Republican: Rep. Mario Scavello, 176th legislative district, Monroe County.
• Democrat: Rep. Bill Keller, 184th legislative district, Philadelphia County.

Liquor Control:
• Republican: Rep. John Taylor, 177th legislative district, Philadelphia County.
• Democrat: Rep. Paul Costa, 34th legislative district, Allegheny County.

Local Government:
• Republican: Rep. Kate Harper, 61st legislative district, Montgomery County.
• Democrat: Rep. Bob Freeman, 136th legislative district, Northampton County.

Professional Licensure:
• Republican: Rep. Julie Harhart, 183rd legislative district, Lehigh and Northampton counties.
• Democrat: Rep. Harry Readshaw, 36th legislative district, Allegheny County.

State Government:
• Republican: Rep. Daryl Metcalfe, 12th legislative district, Butler County.
• Democrat: Rep. Mark Cohen, 202nd legislative district, Philadelphia County.

Tourism and Recreational Development:
• Republican: Rep. Jerry Stern, 80th legislative district, Bedford and Blair counties.
• Democrat: Rep. Thaddeus Kirkland, 159th legislative district, Delaware County.

• Republican: Rep. Dick Hess, 78th legislative district, Bedford, Fulton and Huntingdon counties.
• Democrat: Rep. Michael P. McGeehan, 173rd legislative district, Philadelphia County.

Urban Affairs:
• Republican: Rep. Keith Gillespie, 47th legislative district, York County.
• Democrat: Rep. Ted Harhai, 58th legislative district, Fayette and Westmoreland counties.

Veterans Affairs and Emergency Preparedness:
• Republican: Rep. Stephen E. Barrar, 160th legislative district, Chester and Delaware counties.
• Democrat: Rep. Chris Sainato, 9th legislative district, Beaver and Lawrence counties.

# # #