Township Officials Conference

Member Group : News Releases

Sen. Scott Wagner, Rep. Kate Harper, and several state cabinet-level officials are among the speakers scheduled to address more than 3,000 elected and appointed township officials at the 95th Annual Educational Conference and Trade Show of the Pennsylvania State Association of Township Supervisors (PSATS) April 23-26 at the Hershey Lodge.

Township officials from across the state will meet in Hershey these four days to share how to run their municipalities more efficiently and cost-effectively, listen to speakers discuss topics that affect townships, and adopt resolutions that will guide the Association in its legislative endeavors in Harrisburg.

Since the Association’s authorization by the legislature in 1921, PSATS’ member townships have convened once a year at their annual conference to receive training, elect officers, and establish Association policy.

Sunday, April 23.

• Noon-5 p.m. — The PSATS Trade Show will open. Over 2½ days, close to 300 indoor and outdoor exhibitors will display their services and products to township officials at the largest municipal trade show in Pennsylvania.

Note: Sunday afternoon is a good time for the news media to interview township officials, take photographs, and shoot news footage as township officials talk to exhibitors about new products and services that could benefit their community.

Monday, April 24

• 9:00 a.m. — The general session will open with welcoming remarks by PSATS Executive Director David M. Sanko.

• 9:20 a.m. — PSATS will present its Excellence in Intergovernmental Cooperation Award to the Slate Belt Council of Governments from Northampton County.

• 9:25 a.m. — PSATS, PennDOT, and the Pennsylvania Highway Information Association will present the Road and Bridge Safety Improvement Awards to Bradford Township, McKean County, and Derry Township, Dauphin County.

• 9:30 a.m. — PSATS will present its Outstanding Citizen Communication Award to East Brandywine Township, Chester County.

• 9:35 a.m. — PSATS will present its Chairman’s Distinguished Service Award to an individual who has exhibited outstanding dedication and support to local government and PSATS.

• 9:40 a.m. — PSATS will present its President’s Leadership Awards to a deserving township supervisor and manager or secretary.

• 9:50 a.m. — PSATS will present its distinguished Founder’s Award to state Sen. John Eichelberger, chairman of the Pennsylvania Local Government Commission.

• 10:10 a.m. — PSATS Executive Director David M. Sanko will present his report to the township officials.

* 10:55 a.m.-12:05 p.m. — Township officials will choose from among workshops on such topics as partnering with private developers, getting the most out of technology, using pavement management to maximize road budgets, preparing hazard mitigation and disaster recovery plans, collecting real estate taxes, and using the internet and social media for research and investigations.

• 1:15-5:30 p.m. — Township officials will choose from among dozens of workshops on such topics as preparing for electronics, drones, and cellphones; regulating digital billboards; controlling energy costs; instituting stormwater authorities and fees; financing local emergency services; protecting against cyber fraud; addressing issues associated with legalized marijuana; tackling blight; improving internet service for residents; complying with the Right-to-Know Law; and preparing for an aging population.

• 5-6:30 p.m. — Delegates and guests will travel to the state Capitol complex for the association’s Annual Legislative Reception, townships’ largest grassroots advocacy event of the year. Township officials will meet with more than 100 state legislators in the Commonwealth Keystone Building.
Tuesday, April 25

• 9:10 a.m. — The general session will begin with remarks by Sen. Scott Wagner, chair of the Senate Local Government Committee.

• 9:30 a.m. — PSATS President Shirl Barnhart, a supervisor from Morgan Township, Greene County, will present his report to the township officials.

• 9:40 a.m. — Rep. Kate Harper, chair of the House Local Government Committee, will address the delegates.

• 9:55 a.m. — Delegates will hear committee reports and elect officers.

• 10:20 a.m. — Delegates will vote on resolutions that will set policy for the Association.

• 1:15-5:25 p.m. — Township officials will choose from among dozens of workshops on such topics as media relations for township officials, stormwater management, road maintenance and repair, parks and trails, the 2020 Census, agricultural security areas, improving road safety, and wetlands and waterway management.

Wednesday, April 26

• 8:30-9:15 a.m. — Township officials may choose to attend a panel discussion on fire and emergency services in townships, a township secretaries and managers question-and-answer session, or a workshop on issues surrounding self-driving vehicles.

• 9:40 a.m. — An Administration Roundtable will feature state Secretary of Transportation Leslie Richards, acting Secretary of Environmental Protection Patrick McDonnell, Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency Director Rick Flinn, and Pennsylvania State Police Commissioner Col. Tyree Blocker.

• 10:50 a.m. — Delegates will hear from keynote speaker and news commentator Ed Rollins, a Fox News contributor and partner at Quantum Communications.
* * *
The Pennsylvania State Association of Township Supervisors represents Pennsylvania’s 1,454 townships of the second class and is committed to preserving and strengthening township government and securing greater visibility and involvement for townships in the state and federal political arenas. Townships of the second class cover 95 percent of Pennsylvania’s land mass and represent more residents — 5.5 million — than any other type of political subdivision in the commonwealth.

# # #

Brenda Wilt
Assistant Editor/Member Recognition Manager
Pa. Township News
Pa. State Association of Township Supervisors
4855 Woodland Drive
Enola, PA 17025
Ph: 717-763-0930
Fax: 717-763-9732
Email: [email protected]