Turzai Appoints Republican Committee Chairs

Member Group : News Releases

HARRISBURG – State House Majority Leader Mike Turzai (R-Allegheny
County) today announced the appointments of Republican committee chairs
for the 2011-12 Legislative Session, which begins in January.

House Committees study each bill and determine which bills will go to
the House Floor, conduct public hearings on key issues, allowing
citizens and interested groups to have a say in the legislative process
and serve as a resource for members and others.

"House Republicans will work proactively with Governor Corbett as we
deal with the very serious issues facing Pennsylvania, and our
committees will proactively vet the issues with public," Turzai said.
"We will have a productive legislative session with the committees
leading the way to put Pennsylvania back on course for families and job

There are two proposed changes to the committee structure: the
elimination of the Intergovernmental Affairs Committee and splitting the
existing Health and Human Services Committee into two separate
committees. Committees are outlined in the House Rules which are enacted
for each session.

Turzai made the following appointments, which are unofficial until
announced on the Floor:

Aging and Older Adult Services

Tim Hennessey, Chester County, 26th District

Agriculture and Rural Affairs

John Maher, Allegheny/Washington counties, 40th District

Children and Youth

Dennis O’Brien, Philadelphia, 169th District


Dick Hess, Bedford/Fulton/Huntington counties, 78th District

Consumer Affairs

Robert Godshall, Montgomery County, 53rd District


Paul Clymer, Bucks County, 145th District

Environmental Resources & Energy

Scott Hutchinson, Butler/Venango counties, 64th District


Kerry Benninghoff, Centre/Mifflin counties, 171st District

Game and Fisheries

John Evans, Erie County, 5th District

Gaming Oversight

Curt Schroder, Chester County, 155th District


Matt Baker, Bradford/Tioga counties, 68th District

Human Services

Gene DiGirolamo, Bucks County, 18th District


Nicholas Micozzie, Delaware County, 163rd District


Ron Marsico, Dauphin County, 105th District

Labor Relations

Ron Miller, York County, 93rd District

Liquor Control

John Taylor, Philadelphia, 177th District

Local Government

Tom Creighton, Lancaster County, 37th District

Professional Licensure

Julie Harhart, Lehigh/Northampton counties, 183rd District

State Government

Daryl Metcalfe, Butler County, 12th District

Tourism and Recreational Development

Jerry Stern, Blair County, 80th District


Rick Geist, Blair County, 79th District

Urban Affairs

Chris Ross, Chester County, 158th District

Veterans Affairs & Emergency Preparedness

Steve Barrar, Chester/Delaware counties, 160th District

# # #